Autosave nightmare


Autosaves. Right, now, normally, surely, you'd expect to load a save game, play for a bit and, in the event that an autosave is performed, the game will save over your *currently active* game.

Now how many games do this:

I did a quick Bioshock demo for a friend last night. Thinking it'd be fun to show him my earlier save (I have two, one current and one that is way, way, waaaay back), I loaded it up and we had a wander about the earlier stages. Forgetting about the autosave, I went from the Farmer's Market to Arcadia.

Argghhhhh! Though it raised an alarm bell at the time, I assumed the autosave would only overwrite the active save, not my recent one (and note that the most recent one was a specific save by me, not just a slot specifically used by autosaves).

Nope. Here's a summary of the events:

(i) I loaded my *old* game.

(ii) I went through an autosave.

(iii) The game was overwritten on my newest save.

For those familiar with the acronym: FFS.

Hours and hours of Bioshock progress lost. In many ways, it doesn't matter. The game is so good that it's worth playing that stuff again, but that's not the point. I don't have time to do things over and over, and would appreciate it if Microsoft-style bugs could be kept away from games released on the Playstation 3.

This ramble is, therefore, placed as a warning to any Bioshock players that feel like providing a demonstration using an earlier save game. Simply put: don't. Bioshock. Grrr! You can tell it was developed for X-Box first. Red lights of rage.

Post a comment


characters remaining.

User comments

MeteorStorm Random Quote Picker


Garrus Vakarian

Do you ever miss those talks we had on the elevators?



Garrus Vakarian

Come on. Remember how we'd always ask you about life on the flotilla? It was an opportunity to share!


This conversation is over.